top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWairimu N

The Languages I will teach my children

Language is a great symbol of culture. It is a mode of Communication through which stories are passed from one generatio to the next and visiting India encouraged significance of language. In a country with 1.345 billion people it is estimated that each person has a good understanding of betweeen 2- 4 languages.

This subcontinent has 22 official languages with over 5000 dialects. The official language in this country is Hindi that has been passed onto generations and generations of persons of Indian Origin who fluently speak the language.


It is surprising that for a country that gained independence in 1947 they have been able to pass on their languages to their children. Paying respect to the languages that shaped their history. A language that generations have held onto even with migraion having scattered its speakers round the world.


Theres a lot of important facts, stories and jokes that would crack me up in my mother tongue but as soon as they are translated, the meaning is lost in the English language. Growing up and reading Ngugi Wa Thiong'o amd Majorie Oludhe Macgoye I looked forward to the small pieces in The River Between that were written in my languge the pieces that passed on old proverbs that I remember to date.Sadly it is for speaking these same african languages that I once got punished for, highlighting the differernce between India and Kenyan education systems.


Looking at India indigenous languages have successfully been passed onto the children and it is my hope that I will live to see a day when african languages are embraced more. It starts with me and so I will teach my children I will let them learn other african languages, even the ones I can't speak. Swahili and Kikuyu are the 2 Kenyan languages I speak and over the last 2 years I have picked up a few words of Twi from the Akan People in Ghana.

The journey to passing on my language


The Languages I will teach my children will stand for my culture.They will reflect my journey and that of my ancestors. They will show the history that lives through different generations and I hope that one day the languages I pass on will stand the test of time like Hindi has and serve a greater purpose to the history of my Country. Having visited India the inspiraton to pass my languages is greater than it was before.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page